Movies of the Decade

.

.

Making one of these decade lists seemed too reductive and too vain (moreso than usual), and it still is those things, but it turned out that hearing everyone else’s lists was way too much fun.

A quick note on the number: killing your darlings ain’t easy, but only at the top did my “favorites” and my “bests” resemble each other, so I’m posting fifteen.

.

15. Adaptation. (2002)
14. Zodiac (2007)
13. WALL·E (2008)
12. Children of Men (2006)
11. Grizzly Man (2005)
10. The New World (2005)
9. The Dark Knight (2008)
8. O Brother, Where Art Thou? (2000)
7. The Royal Tenenbaums (2001)
6. Punchdrunk Love (2002)
5. The Lord of the Rings (2001/2002/2003)
4. There Will Be Blood (2007)
3. Memento (2000)
2. Almost Famous (2000)
1. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (2004)

.

That turns out to be two each for Chris Nolan and PT Anderson, as well as for Charlie Kaufman, Emmanuel Lubezki and Roger Deakins (not to mention Jon Brion).  The only year from which nothing placed is 2009, and The Lord of the Rings is the only entry to have won the Oscar for Best Picture (and it took three tries).  On a more trivial note–unless I’m just a sucker for this–I believe almost half of these movies forgo opening credits.

Still haven’t gotten around to seeing: In The Mood For Love, Yi Yi, Caché, Battle Royale.

6 responses to “Movies of the Decade

  1. Punchdrunk Love always makes me think of you for some reason. Haven’t seen #14, 12, 11, 10, or 7, so I guess I have some catching up to do. At least this list is manageable, not like those top 50 ones which are completely ridiculous. Thankssss Fo Fo.

  2. Okay okay I just watched Caché and I already feel like amending this list.

  3. bad lieutenant: port of call new orleans came out in 2009, you know.

  4. okay, so Adaptation is clearly the best film on this list. and I agree with Iguana.

  5. i like this list, and it has convinced me (based on my opinion of the ones listed that I have seen) that i will finally see #3, #9, and #10, and maybe #5. #13 will have to wait until i have kids, and #14 until probably never.

  6. This is a good list. As for the opening credits comment, I must say I am really enjoying the trend TV is taking in cutting down their openings a lot. Lost is a good example, as is Heroes. I never really noticed it in movies though, I should pay attention more.

Leave a Reply

